Building Standards Commission

The Building Standards Commission (BSC) is comprised of five regular members and two alternate members appointed by the City Council. Alternate Members participate in matters before the Commission when a regular member is unable to vote, in accordance with State law. All members are appointed to serve a two-year term, in alternating years. The Commission meets on an as-needed basis when action items are pending, typically once a month on the third Monday at 3:30 p.m.

The general purpose of the Board of Adjustment is to uphold the duties as defined by the Municipal Code Zoning Ordinance.
Individuals must be residents of the City of Decatur, own property in the City of Decatur or own a business in the City of Decatur and possess a basic understanding or knowledge of Zoning and Land Use principles.

If you have an interest in applying for a vacant position on the Building Standards Commission (BSC), please click here to apply online. 

Agendas & Minutes

View Most Recent Agenda  | View All Agendas

Board Members

  • Chairman - Dr. Will Ikerd
  • Vice-Chairman - Mason Clinesmith
  • Board Member - Danny Cross
  • Board Member - Martin Woodruff 
  • Board Member - Joe Gillespie
  • Alternate - Julie Perkins
  • Alternate - Mark Duncum
  • Alternate - Samer Mohamed

The Board of Adjustment or "BOA," is established in the City Charter, Chapter XI, Board of Adjustment (see Ordinance #2006-01-08). Pursuant to the Charter, the BOA has the authority set forth in the Texas Local Government Code, as amended, and such other authority as provided by Ordinance. 

The governing body of a municipality may provide for the appointment of a board of adjustment. The governing body may authorize the board of adjustment, in appropriate cases and subject to appropriate conditions and safeguards, to make special exceptions to the terms of the zoning ordinance that are consistent with the general purpose and intent of the ordinance and in accordance with any applicable rules contained in the ordinance.